Text

KioskShop berlin (KSb)

KioskShop berlin (KSb) by Semjon H. N. Semjon (2021)

From December 2000 to spring 2010, the Berlin-based artist Semjon H. N. Semjon has with his unique long-term artistic project »KioskShop berlin (KSb)« in Berlin-Mitte connected the retail and the art world in a unique way.
Since its official opening in October 2001, around 7,000 visitors have visited »KioskShop«.

In a detour via another complex art installation »Construction of the Modern: The Berlin Collection by Dr. Carl Theodor Gottlob Grouwet (1919)« the »KioskShop« was virtually enclosed by walls that represented the salon of the collection, and for the gallery opening in September 2011, Semjon Contemporary reinforced it in a user-friendly manner. This room became the street parlor (Straßen-Salon) of the gallery's Salon Cabinets for 10 years.

Temporary Resurrection
The walls will be dismantled again by the end of October 2021 in order to allow »KioskShop« to reappear as a whole. The looming termination of the gallery space after 10 or 21 years by Berggruen Holding, which had meanwhile acquired the building, prompted Semjon, after a 10-year artistic sabbatical, to show his own work presumably here in Schröderstraße for the last and unfortunately a short time. The future of this unique installation is uncertain. When the gallery moves out, »KioskShop« has to be smashed and destroyed. The work of art was created for this location (in-situ). Among other things, the too elastic wooden floor was exchanged for a vibration-free screed floor and the terrazzo floor was manufactured by the artist himself, and the self-made shop furniture was screwed, filled and varnished together to form a whole. Relocating stairs and installing a heating system without affecting the shop architecture were also part of it. For 10 years (actually 11) the work of art has been an integral part of the development of Schröderstrasse. The shop unit was the 3rd rented in November 2000. By 2011 every storefront had come to life.

The permanent installation simulates a small neighborhood shop on the one hand, and on the other hand the work of art plays with the perceptions and triggers reflections on the world of goods and their distribution.

At the center of the walk-in art installation are countless Product Sculptures«. These are product packages that have been reworked with bleached beeswax, mostly with their contents: Brandt rusk, Ariel detergent, Coca-Cola cans, newspapers and magazines, sweets, cigarettes and much more. As in a shop, they are set up in series in shop fixtures designed and built for this purpose. The picturesque white and strange looking product sculptures, the minimalist design of the white furniture and the brightly lit room create distance and transcend the well-known store ambience into a different level of perception and understanding. »As in front of a painting, distance from the viewer is required and at the same time curiosity is aroused« (Jan Maruhn in a text in 2001). The design was supposed to be a kind of abstract synthesis of perception from the memory of the long-forgotten colonial grocery store, the post-war corner shop run by war widows and today's Späti, which is mainly run by migrants. The installation was designed as a work-in-progress. Like a real shop, new ›products‹ were constantly being added. For this purpose, Semjon had implemented a presentation system that on the one hand physically protects the sensitive work of art and at the same time increases its added value optically and metaphorically through the display case character.

Genesis
Semjon discovered bleached beeswax as a working material during a study visit to New York from 1991-1994, funded by the Evangelisches Studienwerk Haus Villigst e.V. Semjon originally wanted to apply for an assistantship to the American painter Jasper Johns, whom he greatly admired, but things turned out differently. Semjon discovered ingot bleached beeswax at Pearl Paint, the large multi-story art supply store on Canal Street, and bought several of them. At the same time, he hadn't thrown away the first emptied half-gallon milk container with the gable, because the shape he was familiar with from Berlin suddenly had a completely different, much more graphic design. (Only in Berlin was the 2l milk package available. This was introduced by the US troops during their presence. Today the ½ gallon container doesn’t exist in Berlin anymore.

The Semjon so impressive encaustic painting, which he valued with Jasper Johns and also with his first teacher Martin Assig, but already knew through his studies of classical archeology from the mummy portraits from Egypt in Roman times, inspired him to experiments. Medardo Rosso, who has only been seen as equal to Auguste Rodin in the last few decades (but in Semjon's opinion, is even more interesting and innovative), he met on his first day at the Institute for Art Research at the Technical University in Berlin in April 1984. In the institute's library there was a catalog brochure on Medardo Rosso from the 1920s on the large table covered with linoleum. It was Semjon's initiation for his main artistic material, yet to be discovered.

The first »Product Sculpture« was created the afternoon after the wax bars were bought and on the following day, and since then has generated an abundance of other work groups that use wax - mostly as the main material. The artistic principle of »Unity in Difference« was born. The various states of aggregation and the technical processing options derived from them (liquid with a brush, soft with a spatula and hard with a carving knife) result in a cosmos of formal and content-related groups of works.

From the first »Product Sculpture« the »DeliGrocery Project« was born in a very short time, the realization of which Semjon started in several attempts, most recently from 1999-2000 on site. The »Combination Sculptures« »Grocery«and »Countertop Coca Cola« as well as other works are resulting works from this period. In 1996 Semjon was able to realize his first installation sculpture »Kiosk« in Berlin-Zehlendorf. The free-standing kiosk pavilion from the 1950s with its chrome-glass shelving system set up by Semjon and the ensemble of »Product Sculptures« staged in it delighted and irritated Berliners for three months and was a grateful work of art for art critics.

 

 

Unity in Difference | Einheit in der Differenz

The structural principle of »Unity in Difference« (1999)

All references to pages refer to the catalog, published 1999 by Vice Versa Verlag, Berlin, also available here as a PDF file to view.

In the beginning of the nineties, my artistic position of parallel works developed through my stay in New York from March 1991 to April 1994. The conceptual construction of »Unity in difference/Einheit in der Differenz« allowed me to bring different interests and talents to expression. Next to the classical fields of visual art, such as drawing, painting, sculpture, objects, installation and photography, there is the division into groups, which distinguish themselves in the mode of artistic approach (see visualization).

I’ve solved for myself the old fight between rationality and emotion, spontaneity and planar continuity in parallel works through the systematization in different work groups. It is the attempt to prevent chaos that would without doubt come through.

For years my preferred working material has been beeswax, which offers different possibilities of working, because it is diversely changeable through the three aggregations lying very close to one another. The bleached beeswax is very sensitive to dust. It requires a system of protection, which offers me, at the same time, colors to mark the different workgroups. Therefore, there forms a structure of inner and outer, through the differentiation of red, blue and black (and other colors) from one another. The colored protective forms and order-giving bodies fuse with the actual work to one whole.

The »Blue Group« represents the pure conceptual, minimal and abstract character of my work. The idea of calmness, refutation, protection and conservation is to be understood as a questioning of the loud and aggressive consumer, advertising, and communications world. Through the individual treatment of the products with bleached beeswax and the working over of a semi-transparent, painterly layer of separation, the 'loud' object becomes quieted, the banality distanced and resolved, transferred into a new reality, signifying individuality and contemplation, letting a sculpture form out of the trivial thing. The »Product Sculptures« (page 19-22), the »Product Paintings«, the »Ad Paintings« as well as the installations like »Kiosk« (page 26-28) and »Deli/Grocery« (page 61) belong to this work group

The »Red Group« is the attempt to reach the more purely emotional areas of our lives: love, sexuality, violence, upbringing (rearing, childhood) and history are the leitmotifs. The methodology grants the 'out-of-the-heart-into-the-work' a larger position of value. They are non-mediated because more direct. To this belong the »Frame Paintings« (page 40), the »Shield Paintings«, the »Icon Paintings«, the »Erotic Paintings« and the »Album Paintings« (page 41-43). »Animals in Torso« (page 45), the »Myth Figures«, the »Metamorphosis Figures« and the »Private Souvenirs« represent sculptures as well as objects in the workgroup. The »Army of Clones«, »Bloody Babies« (page 47) and »Flying Babies« are installations belonging to this group.

The »Black Group« offers the possibility to work out from the corporeality of the materials and their power of association. Here I can experiment with the work‘s material and playfully compose. My finished drawings, collages and photographs are also further examined through a reworking. The »Eclectic Figures« as objects, the »Mixed Media Series« works, the "Structural Paintings", and »Berlin Paintings« (page 34-38) and »Portrait Paintings« (page 30-33) can be mentioned here as examples.

My drawings are also in groups; the series are respectively titled: the »Triplets«, the »Tableaus« and the »Structural Combinations« (page 49-50), the »Structural Constitutions« (drawing and photography) and the »Structural Drawings« (page 51-54) as well as the »Baustellen Drawings« (page 39). It interests me to work out the possibilities of drawing and the consequential results by letting confrontation in opposition enter in.

Photography is also represented in my work complex. Above all here should be mentioned the group of self-referential works, which start out from works already realized by me. So single works, for example »Product Sculptures«, different »Wax Paintings« and the installations, serve as the foundation for artistic photography (page 25-28, 32, 38).

Also, when I begin a work from a different work concept, the three human states of being are always to be found in the results: the intellect, the body as well as the emotions.
The systematic classification is a result of my handicap, of being unable and unwilling to concentrate on one workgroup. I need diversity, because it corresponds to my nature. The developed structural principle of »Unity in difference/Einheit in der Differenz« helps me to expand my different talents, to push my work to the front and to keep from sinking into chaos.

My sculptural drawing »Black Box« (page 57) from 1990/91 had already anticipated what I only later began to peel away at: the parallel works. This work is an important link between my earlier searching and my present findings.

The »White Group« (since 1991) and the »Goldene Gruppe« (since 1996) are not mentioned here.

Text

KioskShop berlin (KSb)

KioskShop berlin (KSb) von Semjon H. N. Semjon (2021)

Von Dezember 2000 bis zum Frühjahr 2010 hat der Berliner Künstler Semjon H. N. Semjon mit seinem auf Dauer angelegten Projekt »KioskShop berlin (KSb)« in Berlin-Mitte den Einzelhandel und die Kunstwelt auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbunden.
Seit seiner Eröffnung im Oktober 2001 haben bis zum Frühjahr 2000 rund 7000 Besucher den »KioskShop« besucht.

Auf Umwegen über eine weitere komplexe Kunstinstallation – Konstruktion der Moderne: Die Berliner Sammlung Dr. Carl Theodor Gottlob Grouwet (1919)« – wurde »KioskShop« im Jahr 2010 durch Wände, die den Salon der Sammlung darstellten, quasi eingehaust und zur Galerieeröffnung von Semjon Contemporary im September für zehn Jahre als Straßen-Salon der Galerie genutzt.

Kurzzeitige Wiederauferstehung
Im Oktober 2021 werden (wurden) die Wände abgebaut, um »KioskShop« als Ganzes wieder in Erscheinung treten zu lassen. Die erfolgte Kündigung der Galerieräume nach 10 bzw. 21 Jahren durch die Berggruen Holding, die zwischenzeitlich das Gebäude erworben hatte, veranlassen Semjon nach einem zehn Jahre währenden künstlerischen Sabbatical sein eigenes Werk hier in der Schröderstraße vermutlich ein letztes Mal zu zeigen. Die Zukunft dieser einmaligen Installation ist ungewiss. Mit dem Auszug der Galerie muss der »KioskShop« zerschlagen und wohl zerstört werden. Das Kunstwerk ist für eben diesen Ort geschaffen worden (in situ). U.a. wurden die Holzdielen gegen einen erschütterungsfreien Estrichboden ausgetauscht und der Terrazzoboden vom Künstler selbst gefertigt, sowie die selbstgebauten Ladenmöbel miteinander zu einem Ganzen verschraubt, verspachtelt und lackiert. Eine Treppenverlegung und der Einbau einer Heizung ohne die Beeinträchtigung der Ladenarchitektur gehörten ebenso dazu. Über zehn Jahre (eigentlich elf) hat das Kunstwerk als fester Bestandteil die Entwicklung der Schröderstraße mitgestaltet: Die Räume des »KioskShop« waren im November 2000 erst die dritte vermietete Ladeneinheit in dieser Straße. 2011 waren dann alle Läden in der kleinen und besonderen Schröderstraße mit Leben gefüllt.

Die auf Dauer angelegte Installation simuliert einerseits einen kleinen Kiezladen, andererseits spielt das Kunstwerk mit den Wahrnehmungen und löst Reflexionen über die Warenwelt und deren Vertrieb aus.

Im Mittelpunkt des begehbaren Kunstwerkes stehen unzählige »Product Sculptures«. Dies sind mit gebleichtem Bienenwachs überarbeitete Produktpackungen, zumeist samt Inhalt: Brandt Zwieback, Ariel-Waschmittel, Coca-Cola-Dosen, Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, Süßigkeiten, Zigaretten und vieles mehr. Wie in einem Geschäft sind sie seriell in dafür entworfenen und gebauten Ladenmöbeln aufgestellt. Die malerisch weißen und fremd wirkenden Produktskulpturen, das minimalistische Design der weißen Möbel und der hell erleuchtete Raum schaffen Distanz und transzendieren das wohlbekannte Ladenambiente in eine andere Wahrnehmungs- und Erkenntnisebene. »Wie vor einem Gemälde wird Abstand vom Betrachter gefordert und gleichzeitig Neugier geweckt« (Jan Maruhn in einem Text zum »KioskShop«, ca. 2001). Das Design sollte eine abstrahierende Wahrnehmungssynthese aus der Erinnerung vom längst vergessenen Kolonialwarenladen über den Nachkriegs-Tante-Emma-Laden und dem heutigen, vorwiegend von Migranten betriebenen Späti sein. Die Installation war als Work-in-progress angelegt worden. Wie ein wirklicher Laden kamen ständig neue ›Produkte‹ dazu, die auch zu erwerben waren. Dafür hatte Semjon ein Präsentationssystem entwickelt, das zum einen das empfindliche Kunstwerk physisch schützt und zugleich seinen Mehrwert durch den Schaukastencharakter optisch und metaphorisch erhöht.

Genese
Durch den New Yorker Studienaufenthalt von 1991 – 1994, gefördert vom Evangelischen Studienwerke Haus Villigst e.V., entdeckte Semjon das gebleichte Bienenwachs als Arbeitsmaterial. Ursprünglich wollte Semjon sich um eine Assistenz bei dem von ihm sehr geschätzten amerikanischen Maler Jasper Johns bewerben, doch es kam alles anders. Bei Pearl Paint, dem großen mehrstöckigen Geschäft für Künstlerbedarf in der Canal Street, entdeckte Semjon das in Barren gegossene gebleichte Bienenwachs und kaufte gleiche einige davon. Gleichzeitig hatte er die ersten geleerten Half-Gallon-Milch-Container mit dem Giebel nicht weggeworfen, weil die ihm aus Berlin vertraute Form plötzlich ein ganz anderes, viel grafischeres Design aufwies. (Nur in Berlin gab es die 2l-Milch-Verpackung. Diese wurde durch die Anwesenheit der Amerikaner als ‚Besatzungsmacht eingeführt. Heute gibt es sie nicht mehr.)

Die Semjon so beeindruckende Enkaustikmalerei, die er bei Jasper Johns und auch bei seinem ersten Lehrer Martin Assig schätzte, aber schon durch sein Studium der klassischen Archäologie von den Mumienporträts aus Ägypten in römischer Zeit her kannte, inspirierte ihn zum Experiment.Medardo Rosso, der erst in den letzten Jahrzehnten als gleichrangig zu Auguste Rodin gesehen wird (nach Semjons Meinung aber noch interessanter und innovativer ist) lernte er bereits an seinem ersten Tag im Institut für Kunstwissenschaft der TU in Berlin im April 1984 kennen. In der Institutsbibliothek lag auf dem großen mit Linoleum gefassten Tisch eine Katalogbroschüre aus den 20er Jahren des 20. Jahrhundert zu Medardo Rosso. Es war Semjons Initiation für sein noch zu entdeckendes künstlerisches Hauptmaterial.

Die erste »Product Sculpture« entstand noch am Nachmittag nach dem Kauf der Wachsbarren und am darauffolgenden Tag, und hat seitdem eine Fülle an weiteren Werkgruppen, die das Wachs – zumeist als Hauptmaterial nutzt – generiert. Das künstlerische Prinzip der »Unity in Difference« wurde geboren.Die verschiedenen Aggregatzustände und ihre daraus ableitenden technischen Verarbeitungsmöglichkeiten (flüssig mit dem Pinsel, weich mit dem Spachtel und hart mit dem Schnitzmesser) ergeben einen Kosmos an formalen, aber auch inhaltlichen Werkgruppen.

Aus der ersten »Product Sculpture« wurde in kürzester Zeit das »DeliGrocery Project« geboren, dessen Realisierung Semjon in mehreren Anläufen, zuletzt von 1999-2000 vor Ort anging. Die »Combination Sculptures« »Grocery«, sowie »Countertop Coca Cola« sowie weitere Werke sind resultierende Werke aus dieser Zeit.1996 konnte Semjon in Berlin-Zehlendorf seine erste Installationsskulptur »Kiosk» realisieren. Der freistehende Kioskpavillon aus den 1950er Jahren mit seinen von Semjon aufgestellten Chrom-Glas-Regalsystem und darin inszenierten Ensemble von »Product Sculptures« erfreute und irritierte die Berliner für drei Monate und war ein dankbares Kunstwerk für die Kunstkritik.

 

 

Unity in Difference | Einheit in der Differenz

Das strukturalistische Prinzip der »Unity in Difference« (1999)

Alle Seitenverweise beziehen sich auf den 1999 im Vice Versa Verlag, Berlin, erschienenen Katalog, der hier auch als PDF-Datei erhältlich ist.

Zu Beginn der 90er Jahre hat sich durch meinen Aufenthalt in New York von November 1991 bis April 1994 meine künstlerische Haltung des parallelen Arbeitens entwickelt. Der konzeptuelle Überbau der »Unity in difference/Einheit in der Differenz« ermöglicht mir, verschiedene Interessen und Talente zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Neben den klassischen Feldern, in denen ich arbeite, wie Zeichnung, Malerei, Skulptur, Objekt, Installation und Fotografie, gibt es die Einteilung in Gruppen, die sich in der künstlerischen Herangehensweise unterscheiden (siehe Schema).

Den alten Kampf zwischen der Ratio und der Emotio, zwischen Spontaneität und planender Kontinuität habe ich für mich im parallelen Arbeiten durch die Systematisierung in verschiedenen Werkgruppen gelöst. Es ist der Versuch, das Chaos zu verhindern, das zweifelsohne einbrechen würde.

Mein seit Jahren bevorzugtes Arbeitsmaterial, das Bienenwachs, bietet die verschiedensten Bearbeitungsmöglichkeiten, da es durch seine drei sehr nahe beieinander liegenden Aggregatzustände vielfältig verwendbar ist. Das gebleichte Bienenwachs ist sehr staubempfindlich. Es bedarf eines Schutzsystems, das mir gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit gibt, die verschiedenen Werkgruppen farblich zu markieren. Es entsteht somit ein Gefüge aus innen und außen, durch die Farben Rot, Blau und Schwarz (und andere) voneinander unterschieden. Die farblichen Schutz- und Ordnungskörper verschmelzen mit dem eigentlichen Werk zu einem Ganzen.

Die »Blaue Gruppe« stellt den rein konzeptuellen, minimalen und abstrakten Charakter meiner Arbeiten dar. Das Konzept des Beruhigens, des Verweigerns, Schützen und Konservierens ist als eine Hinterfragung der lauten und aggressiven Konsum-, Werbe- und Kommunikationswelt zu verstehen. Durch das individuelle Bearbeiten ihrer Produkte mit gebleichtem Bienenwachs, das Erarbeiten einer semitransparenten, malerischen Trennschicht wird das ‚laute‘ Objekt beruhigt, der Alltäglichkeit entrückt und verklärt in eine neue Wirklichkeit versetzt, die Individualität und Kontemplation meint und aus dem alltäglichem Ding eine Skulptur oder eine Malerei werden läßt. Zu dieser Arbeitsgruppe gehören die »Product Sculptures« (Seite 19-22), die »Product Paintings«, die »Ad Paintings« sowie Installationen wie »Kiosk« (Seite 26-28) und »Deli/Grocery« (Seite 61).

Die »Rote Gruppe« ist der Versuch, den eher emotionalen Bereich unseres Lebens anzugehen: Liebe, Sexualität, Gewalt, Prägung (Erziehung, Kindheit) und Geschichte sind die Leitthemen. Die Methodik räumt dem ‚Aus-dem-Bauch-heraus-Arbeiten‘ einen größeren Stellenwert ein. Sie ist unvermittelter, weil direkter. Hierzu gehören die »Frame Paintings« (Seite 40), die »Shield Paintings«, die »Icon Paintings«, die »Erotic Paintings« und die »Album Paintings« (Seite 41-43). Sowohl Skulpturen als auch Objekte sind in den Werkgruppen der »Animals in Torso« (Seite 45), der »Myth Figures«, der »Metamorphosis Figures« (Seite 44) und der »Private Souvenirs« vertreten. Die »Army of Clones«, »Bloody Babies« (Seite 47) und »Flying Babies« sind dieser Gruppe zugehörige Installationen.

Die »Schwarze Gruppe« bietet die Möglichkeit, von der Körperlichkeit des Materials, dessen Assoziationskraft auszugehen. Hier kann ich experimentell mit dem Arbeitsmaterial umgehen und spielerisch komponieren. Auch von mir gefertigte Zeichnungen, Collagen und Fotografien werden weiterer Überarbeitungsschritte unterzogen. Als Beispiele können hierfür die »Eclectic Figures« als Objekte, die »Mixed-Media-Series«-Arbeiten, die »Structural Paintings«, die »Berlin Paintings« (Seite 34-38) und die »Portrait Paintings« (Seite 30-33) angeführt werden.

Mein zeichnerisches Arbeiten ist ebenfalls in Gruppen bzw. Serien unterteilt: Die »Triplets« (Seite 48), die »Tableaus« und die »Structural Combinations« (Seite 49-50), die »Structural Constitutions« (Zeichnung und Fotografie) und die »Structural Drawings« (Seite 51-54) sowie die »Baustellen Drawings« (Seite 39). Mich interessiert, die Möglichkeiten der Zeichnung herauszuarbeiten und die daraus resultierenden Ergebnisse durch Gegenüberstellung in Widerstreit treten zu lassen.

Die Fotografie ist auch in meinem Werkkomplex vertreten. Hierbei ist vor allem die Gruppe der selbstreferentiellen Arbeiten zu nennen, die als Ausgangspunkt von mir bereits realisierte Kunstwerke haben. So dienen einzelne Kunstwerke wie z.B. die »Product Sculptures«, verschiedene »Wax Paintings« und die Installationen als Grundlage zur künstlerischen Fotografie (Seite 25-28, 32, 38).

Auch wenn ich mit unterschiedlichen Arbeitskonzepten ein Werk beginne, sind in dem Ergebnis doch immer alle drei menschlichen Wesenheiten zu finden: der Geist, der Körper sowie die Emotio.
Die systematische Einteilung in Werkgruppen ist ein Resultat des Handicaps, mich nicht nur auf eine Werkgruppe konzentrieren zu können und zu wollen. Ich brauche die Vielfalt, denn sie entspricht meiner Natur. Das entwickelte strukturalistische Prinzip der »Unity in difference/Einheit in der Differenz« hilft mir, meine verschiedenen Talente zu fördern, mein Arbeiten nach vorne zu treiben und nicht im Chaos zu versinken.

Meine Zeichnungsplastik »Black Box« (Seite 57) von 1990/91 hat somit bereits vorweggenommen, was sich erst später herauszuschälen begann: das parallele Arbeiten. Diese Arbeit ist ein wichtiges Gelenkstück zwischen meinem früheren Suchen und dem heutigen Finden.

Die »Weiße Gruppe« (seit 1991) und die »Goldene Gruppe« (seit 1996) sind hier nicht aufgeführt.