Home

A new life for »KioskShop berlin (KSb)«?

With the 1st intervention exhibition "Intervention XXX-01: Petra Toedter @ KioskShop berlin (KSb)" the tradition of interventions is inscribed in the new chapter of life of the KSb. Opening: Friday, August 26 from 13 - 19.30 (parallel: opening of "Drift", the solo exhibition of Marc von der Hocht at Semjon Contemporary.

The big difference from the years 2003-2011: the KioskShop is now, as it were, through the more recent history (see below), part of the gallery Semjon Contemporary.
Both spatially related store units have to do with Semjon H. N. Semjon. The KioskShop as a site-specific artwork by the artist Semjon and Semjon Contemporary as the exhibition and communication space of the gallery owner Semjon.

 

»KioskShop berlin (KSb)« by Semjon H. N. Semjon

From December 2000 to spring 2010, the Berlin-based artist Semjon H.N. Semjon has uniquely linked retail with the art world with his unique long-term artistic project »KioskShop berlin (KSb)«. Since its official opening in October 2001, around 7,000 visitors have visited »KioskShop« at Schröderstrasse 1 in Berlin-Mitte.

After eleven years of slumber behind prebuilt walls, he was brought back to reality for a short period of time because the lease was terminated by Nicolas Berggruen Holdings for December 31, 2021. It looked as if the »KioskShop« would only have a short life at its original location.

However, with the signing of the new lease on March 1, 2022, the stage is set for him to stay for another 5 years. But then he has to get out, according to the contract.

Semjon has decided not to let the »KioskShop« disappear behind the walls anymore. KSb will now have to fend for itself in the next few years.

But as life will show: Nothing is certain or fixed forever. Panta rhei. So too contracts.

Semjon H. N. Semjon
October 2021, March and August 2022

Home

Ein neues Leben für den »KioskShop berlin (KSb)«?

Mit der 1. Interventionsausstellung »Intervention XXX-01: Petra Tödter @ KioskShop berlin (KSb)« wird die Tradition der Interventionen in das neue Lebenskapitel des KSb eingeschrieben. Eröffnung: Freitag, den 26. August von 13 – 19.30 Uhr (parallel: Eröffnung von »Drift«, der Einzelausstellung von Marc von der Hocht bei Semjon Contemporary.

Der große Unterscheid zu den Jahren 2003-2011: Der KioskShop ist nun quasi durch die neuere Geschichte (s.u.) Bestandteil der Galerie Semjon Contemporary.
Beide räumlich zusammengehörigen Ladeneinheiten haben mit Semjon H. N. Semjon zu tun. Der KioskShop als ein ortspezifisches Kunstwerk des Künstlers Semjon und Semjon Contemporary als der Ausstellungs- und Kommunikationsort des Galeristen Semjon.

 

»KioskShop berlin (KSb)« von Semjon H. N. Semjon

Von Dezember 2000 bis zum Frühjahr 2010 hat der in Berlin lebende Künstler Semjon H.N. Semjon mit seinem einmaligen künstlerischen Langzeitprojekt »KioskShop berlin (KSb)« den Einzelhandel mit der Kunstwelt auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbunden. Seit seiner offiziellen Eröffnung im Oktober 2001 haben rund 7.000 Besucher den »KioskShop« in der Schröderstraße 1 in Berlin-Mitte besucht.

Nach einem elfjährigen Dornröschenschlaf hinter vorgebauten Wänden wurde er für einen kurzen Zeitraum in die Wirklichkeit zurückgeholt, denn der Mietvertrag wurde durch die Nicolas Berggruen Holdings zum 31.12.2021 gekündigt. Es sah aus, als würde der »KioskShop« nur noch ein kurzes Leben am angestammten Ort haben.

Mit der Unterzeichnung des neuen Mietvertrags am 1. März 2022 sind jedoch die Weichen gestellt, dass er für weitere 5 Jahre bleiben kann. Dann muss er aber raus, so der Vertrag.

Semjon hat sich entschlossen, den »KioskShop« nicht wieder einzubauen. Er wird sich nun in den nächsten Jahren selbst behaupten müssen.

Doch wie das Leben zeigen wird: Nichts ist sicher bzw. auf ewig festgeschrieben. Panta rhei. So auch Verträge.

Semjon H. N. Semjon
(Oktober 2021, März und August 2022)